Svyato-Sergievsky Skete description and photos - Russia - North-West: Solovetsky Islands. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Svyato-Sergievsky skete was created on an island called Bolshaya Muksalma in 1873-1876. Founded under Archimandrite Theophanes. A temple was erected on the island in the name of Saint Sergius, hegumen of Radonezh. The author of the project was the Arkhangelsk provincial architect G. Karmin. The appearance of the temple was similar to the appearance of the church of the Savvatievsky skete. The roof is hipped, completed with a chapter. On the west side there was a hipped-roof bell tower. To date, the temple is completely lost.
In the 16th century, a monastery farm was built on the island under the abbot Philip. There were flooded meadows that served as pastures for the monastic life. According to legend, the Monk Zosima, the Solovetsky original leader, imposed a ban on breeding cattle near the monastery.
The structures of the skete that have survived to this day date back to the beginning of the 20th century. During the reign of Archimandrite Ioannikia in 1900, a two-story wooden house was built, called the Sergievsky building. The construction was designed by the Arkhangelsk architect Vukolov. The Sergievsky building was used for the residence of the monastic brethren and guests who came here. A little later, in the period from 1901 to 1905, a stone building was erected for workers. The building had utility cellars. A cattle yard adjoined this structure. Some outbuildings have also been partially preserved.
St. Sergius Skete was one of the most populated by the number of inhabitants. In 1905, 13 monastics and about 20 workers lived here.
There was a chapel on the island called Bolshaya Muksalma, built of wood in the name of the holy martyr Blasius, revered as the direct patron of cattle breeding (not preserved). Perhaps in 1829 this chapel was rebuilt and renamed in the name of the Nativity of Christ, and later moved to an island called Malaya Muksalma.
Mount Tabor is located on the eastern coast of the island. On this mountain at the end of the 18th century, a chapel was built in honor of the Transfiguration of the Lord (unfortunately, it was destroyed during the Second World War).
For a long time, food was delivered to the monastery by sea - on karbas. In 1865 - 1871 a boulder dam was built, which was named "Stone Bridge". Its length was measured at 1220 meters. The dam served as a link between the two islands: Bolshaya Muksalma Island and Bolshoi Solovetsky Island. The supervision over the construction of this hydraulic structure was carried out by the monk Feoktist.
In the period 20-30s of the last century, the 3rd branch of the ELEPHANT - Selkhoz was located on the island. During the war years, an airfield was located here, intended for seaplanes. Today, the remaining buildings of the skete are not suitable for living.
In August 2011, restoration and restoration work began in the Sergievsky Skete. The roof and ceiling between the second floor and the attic of the stone building have been restored. The restoration of the residential building (stone) will continue. Also under development is a project for the restoration of a wooden building. In the future, a project will be created for the restoration and restoration of the church in the name of St. Sergius of Radonezh.
Topic: Svyato-Sergievsky Skete description and photo - Russia - North-West: Solovetsky Islands.