Rating: 8,2/10 (209 votes)
Kazimierz Palace (Palac Kazimierzowski) description and photo - Poland: Warsaw. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The title in English is Palac Kazimierzowski.
Photo and description
Kazimierz Palace is a royal villa in Warsaw, located in the city center. The palace, now called Kazimierz Palace, was built between 1637-1641 and is known as the Villa Reggia Summer Palace.
The villa was created by the Italian architect Giovanni Trevano in the early Baroque style for King Vladislav IV. After the destruction caused by the flood, Villa Reggia was rebuilt twice in 1652 and in 1660 according to the designs of Isidore Affait and Titus Livius Burattini. After 1660, the palace was named Kazimierz in honor of King Jan Casimir, for whom it was rebuilt. Abandoned in 1667, the palace later became the property of King Jan III Soberski. In 1695, the building was completely destroyed by fire.
In 1724, the burned property was transferred to King August II. During this period, the entrance gates to Krakowskie Przedmiescie were built. In 1735, the palace became the property of Count Alexander Jozef Sulkowski. A brick factory and a brewery were built in the park, and in 1739 the palace was rebuilt in the Rococo style by the architects Sigmund Deibel and Joachim von Daniel Jach. In 1765, ownership was transferred to King Stanislav August Poniatowski, under whom a cadet corps was opened here. After the Kosciuszko uprising in 1794, the cadet corps was closed.
In 1814, a fire destroyed the barracks in front of the palace, and in 1816 it was replaced by two side pavilions by Jakub Kubitsky. In the same year, the palace became the seat of the University of Warsaw, and in 1817-1831, the secondary school and the Warsaw Lyceum were located here. where Chopin studied. In 1824 the palace was completely rebuilt in the classical style, two more pavilions appeared.
During World War II, the palace was destroyed along with other buildings of the University of Warsaw. In 1945-54, the palace was rebuilt according to the project of the architect Piotr Bieganski. Currently, the Kazimierz Palace houses the Rector's Office of the University of Warsaw, as well as the University History Museum.
We also recommend reading Castle Golling (Burg Golling) description and photos - Austria: Salzburg (land)
Topic: Kazimierz Palace (Palac Kazimierzowski) description and photos - Poland: Warsaw.