Rating: 8,3/10 (400 votes)
The construction of the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral for the first wave of Russian emigrants began in 1937 with funds donated by people of the Christian faith. In the same year, an association of Orthodox Bizerte was created.
In September 1938, the church was consecrated in the name of St. Prince Alexander Nevsky.
In 1942-1943, the temple was damaged during the hostilities, but after it was rebuilt. From 1962 to the late 1980s, there were only two families in the church, and services were held only twice a year, at Christmas and Easter. Only after the emigration of Russians, Ukrainians and Belarusians (late 80s of the XX century) church life was renewed. In 1992, Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II accepted the Tunisian parish into the bosom of the Russian Orthodox Church.
We also recommend reading Leaning Tower in Italy, Pisa resort
Topic: Temple of Alexander Nevsky in Tunisia, Bizerte resort.