Rating: 8,5/10 (1729 votes)
Palazzo Carignano is the Turin residence of the Carignan branch of the House of Savoy. Along with other residences of the House of Savoy in 1997, it was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List.
The construction of the palace was started by order of Emmanuel Philibert the Dumb in 1679. The author of the project was the architect Guarino Guarini. Upon completion, the building was a splendid Piedmontese Baroque palace. The building material was red brick.
The facade of the first floor is decorated with a frieze depicting the Iroquois Indians. The inner chambers of the palace are decorated with frescoes by Stefano Legnani.
In the second half of the 18th century, the palazzo housed the parliament of the united Italy, but the former building was not enough for the deputies, in connection with which it was decided to expand the palace. Construction work was carried out in 1864-1867. As a result, the rear facade was faced with white stone and pink plaster.
Since 1938, the palazzo houses the Risorgimento Museum.
We also recommend reading Palazzo Reale in Turin in Italy, resort of Turin
Topic: Palazzo Carignano in Italy, resort of Turin.