Rating: 8,2/10 (7829 votes)
One of the most interesting churches in Cuba with a very unusual history.
The church building itself was built at the beginning of the 19th century by Franciscan monks and was part of monastery. By 1850, the monastery was turned into a prison for fugitive criminals. The cells were converted into cells, and all church utensils were either lowered into the cellars or looted.
In 1920, the last prisoners were removed from the cells and the building began to slowly collapse. Of all the buildings of the monastery, only the bell tower survived.
After the Revolution, it was decided to restore most of the monastery premises and turn them into a museum. The exposition of the museum is permanent today, it is devoted to the fight against counter-revolutionary forces after the 50s. The counter in Cuba is usually called a 'bandito', so the official Cuban name of the museum is' Anti-Bandit Museum.
We also recommend reading Museum of Romanticism in Cuba, Trinidad Resort
Topic: Church of the Monastery of St. Francis in Cuba, Trinidad resort.