Rating: 8,6/10 (5691 votes)
Palazzo dei Notar, also known as the Palace of the Notaries, is a stately building located in Piazza Maggiore.
The building was erected between the 14th and 15th centuries. The architects of the palace were Andrea di Vicenzo, Lorenzo da Bagnomarino and Berto Cavalletto. On the facade of the building and in our time you can see the coat of arms of the Society of Notaries – three inkpots and quills depicted on a red background.
The palace was built in two stages. The older part of the building faces the church of San Pitronio, the part facing the Palazzo Communale is newer. The palace was built on the site where there were previously two buildings that belonged to the Accursio family and were bought by the Society of Notaries in 1287. Almost a hundred years later, the buildings were demolished, and in their place the construction of the palace began.
Over the next five centuries, the building housed the Council of Notaries, and also preserved legal documents. In 1700, the palace was used as a warehouse for salt used for preserving meat. At the beginning of the 20th century, large-scale reconstruction works were carried out in the palace, during which the original appearance of the building was changed, and the coat of arms of the Society appeared on the facade.
Currently, the palazzo was given over to living quarters and offices.
We also recommend reading Tuileries Garden in France, Paris resort
Topic: Palazzo dei Notar in Italy, Bologna resort.