Rating: 7,9/10 (459 votes)
The Pinkas Synagogue, located in the Josefov district of Prague, was built around 1535 by Aaron Meshulam Govoritz. The synagogue received its present name in the 16th century in honor of the Krakow rabbi Pinkas – grandson of Aaron.
The synagogue originally served as a private chapel for the Horowitz family. Subsequently, it was a place of ritual ablution, and only then began to perform the function of a public synagogue. In our time, Pinkas Synagogue is a memorial to the victims of the Holocaust, and is owned by the National Jewish Museum. On the walls inside the building, you can see many inscriptions – the names of the Prague Jews who died in World War II in trains, concentration camps or death marches.
The synagogue was originally built in the Gothic style, later the Renaissance entrance portal was completed.
In 1607-1625, a late Renaissance was added to the building. the southern part, where the women's gallery was located, the front and the lobby. At the same time, the reconstruction of Aron ha-kodesh was carried out, two pilasters, made in the Renaissance style, were also installed near it.
In 1758-1771, after the flood, bima and Aron ha -codesh were restored, and four years later the synagogue parapet was decorated with colored plaster. In 1793, a rococo-style iron grating was installed on the bim, which was presented to the synagogue as a gift from Joaquim Popper.
We also recommend reading High synagogue in the Czech Republic, Prague spa
Topic: Pinkas synagogue in the Czech Republic, Prague spa.