Rating: 8,3/10 (1764 votes)
The monastery was founded at the beginning of the XII century. It is located in a picturesque place among the pine forests of Troodos, at an altitude of 870 meters. You can get to this monastery by going through the village of Kapedis.
There are several legends about the origin of the monastery at this place. But the most reliable legend is connected with the appearance of the hermits Ignatios and Neophytos in these mountains at the beginning of the 12th century. They, led by divine prediction, found a cave among the thickets and, miraculously, they had a knife in their hands, with the help of it they freed the entrance to it. Here the hermits found an icon of the Holy Mother of God, called Macheriotissa ("makhera" - a knife).
Having found a priceless shrine, the monks went to Constantinople to Manuel Comnenus for support in the construction of the temple. The emperor allocated funds from the state treasury for the construction of the monastery. When they returned, Neophytos and Ignatios began building the monastery.
Gradually, the Macheras monastery expanded, the number of monks increased, among them one could find winemakers, bakers, blacksmiths, coppersmiths and others. Over time, the monastery received the right to independence and self-government.
In 1530 and 1892 there were fires in the monastery, but the icon of the Mother of God was not damaged. After the last fire, the monastery was rebuilt by 1960 (Cyprus gained independence).
Currently, the Macheras monastery looks like a beautiful fairytale castle. There are 25 monks serving under the spiritual tutelage of the rector, Archimandrite Epiphanios. Hundreds of pilgrims aspire to the monastery who wish to touch the spiritual heritage.
We also recommend reading Automotive Museum in China, Nanjing Resort
Topic: Macheras Monastery (or Blessed Virgin Mary Macheriotissa) in Cyprus, Troodos resort.