Rating: 7,8/10 (3049 votes)
The monastery was built in honor of the icon of the Most Holy Theotokos Chrysoroyatissa (or Our Lady of the Golden Garnet).
The monastery was founded in 1152, when the hermit Ignasios found an icon depicting the Blessed Virgin on the seashore. The icon, according to legend, at the time of iconoclasm was lowered into the water off the coast of Asia Minor, and sailed by sea to Cyprus. Ignasios took the icon with him, and at night in a dream the Most Holy Virgin appeared to him and ordered to build a chapel near the cave where he lived. Later, a monastery was formed around it. The buildings we see now were mostly built around 1770.
We also recommend reading Valley of the Windmills in Cyprus, Protaras Resort
Topic: Chrysoroyatissa Monastery in Cyprus, Troodos Resort.