Rating: 8,0/10 (1254 votes)
The Academy Bridge is the southernmost of the bridges across the Grand Canal. The bridge got its name in honor of the Museum of the Academy Gallery, located in a former monastery. The bridge connects the San Marco area and the Accademia Gallery.
In 1488, a project was prepared for the bridge, but the bridge itself was not built until 1854. The bridge was designed by Alfred Neville in the form of an original steel structure, which caused him sharp criticism for being too modern.
In 1934, the architect Miozzi created a temporary structure to replace the 1854 metal bridge ... Soon a bridge project was developed, in style close to the surrounding buildings, but the temporary wooden bridge stood for about half a century.
In 1985, due to wear, the bridge was replaced with a new one. The appearance and structures of the old bridge have been preserved.
We also recommend reading Palazzo Corner Spinelli in Italy, Venice resort
Topic: Accademia Bridge in Italy, Venice resort.