Rating: 7,7/10 (600 votes)
Church of Michael and Gabriel Archangels from Gorodets description and photos - Russia - North-West: Pskov. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The first St. Michael's Church was built in 1399. In ancient times, there was a small fortification - "Gorodets". Until the 16th century, this place housed the Old Marketplace. All the central city streets converged to him. Once the temple stood on a hill, which over the centuries has become almost invisible. The church became cathedral in 1429, and it was especially equipped at the end of the 18th century.
Today's stone church was built in the second half of the 17th century. Archbishop Eugene in the "History of the Principality of Pskov" provides information that in 1439 the temple was established to be a cathedral, rebuilt in 1694, and re-consecrated in 1696. Around the church there are 1-storey buildings, in which in the 19th century there was an almshouse at the bishop's house, and at the beginning of the 20th century there were the clergy's apartments. One apartment was transferred to the Cyril and Methodius Brotherhood for the sale of religious literature.
In September 1786, by order of the Pskov spiritual consistory, the temple of the Archangel Michael was assigned to the temple of Cosmas and Damian from Primostye. By 1808, the church was completely dilapidated and was intended to be demolished, but the Holy Synod forbade this to be done. By 1900, while remaining a diocesan church, the church was transferred to the Yenisei regiment for regimental services and divine services. On Sundays and on holidays, divine services were performed by the regimental priest, on church holidays - by the clerk of the Church of Cosmas and Damian.
There were two thrones in the church: the main one - in the name of the Holy Archangel Michael and other ethereal Forces and the throne - in the right side-altar - in honor of the Position of the Belt of the Most Holy Theotokos. The left side-altar - in honor of the Dormition of the Most Holy Theotokos - was abolished due to old age, it housed the diocesan candle factory, later - the church shop.
The bell tower of the Moscow type with a tent was built simultaneously with the temple above the entrance gate, between two stone houses. Once upon a time there was an almshouse at the church. From it there was a chapel with the icon of the Mother of God "Quench my sorrows", especially revered by local residents.
In June 1920, the administration department of the Pskov district-city executive committee drew up an act according to which the church and the chapel were transferred to the jurisdiction of the religious society. In the Soviet years, when the Trinity Cathedral was seized by the "renovationists", the Church of the Archangel Michael again turned into a cathedral for believers who were faithful to Patriarch Tikhon. Parishioners went to this temple and not to the Trinity Cathedral, which was empty during the divine services. The temple was closed in July 1936. At the end of the 1930s, the aeroclub headquarters and training parachute classes were located here.
In 1941-1945, the Pskov Orthodox Mission restored the procession of the cross around Pskov on the commemoration day of the Archangel Michael. During the hostilities, the temple received partial damage to the walls, roof, exterior and interior decoration. In 1948, the church complex was restored according to the plan of Yu.P. Spegalsky. But then the church was closed again.
After the closure, the church was abandoned, it was used mainly as a warehouse, for a long time no repairs were made in it. Here, as in other churches, the same story was repeated: after learning about the opening of the temple, people began to carry icons. The iconostasis was restored by different masters. The bottom row of icons was painted in Moscow, the deacon's doors, the Royal Doors, the second festive row in Tver, the third and fourth rows in Pskov.
After a long break, the first service in St. Michael's Church took place on July 26, 1995. There is a charitable dining room for street children at the church (payments are mainly made by philanthropists from Germany). In addition, the church has a Sunday school and a children's church choir.
Topic: Church of Michael and Gabriel Archangels from Gorodets description and photos - Russia - North-West: Pskov.