UsefulTravelArticles.com

Ruins of the Jesuit monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Zhitomir (Topic)

Traval Articles » Travel » Ruins of the Jesuit monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Zhitomir

Ruins of the Jesuit monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Zhitomir

Rating: 8,4/10 (5489 votes)
Ruins of a Jesuit monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Zhitomir

Ruins of the Jesuit monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Zhitomir. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.

Photo and description

The ruins of the Jesuit monastery in the city of Zhitomir are a preserved architectural monument of national importance. The historical building, built in 1724, is located in the central part of the city, between the Kamenka River and Zamkovaya Gora, at the beginning of Chernyakhovsky Street 12.

Jesuit Law was founded after the Polish king August II gave his privilege these lands to the order of the Jesuits, who founded a college and a monastery here. Legal ― administratively independent, isolated part of the city, which was not subject to the administrative and judicial powers of local self-government. There were corresponding religious institutions, the first school in the city, residential buildings for students and teachers, as well as a slaughterhouse, a bakery, shops, and a candle factory. In addition, the lawyer had its own court at its disposal. In 1789, the magistrate of Zhytomyr asked the Polish crown court to order the Jesuits to pay taxes to the city budget, explaining that there was a slaughterhouse there and various items were sold, all without any remuneration to the city.

After a while, land plots began to be leased to urban residents. Yuridika was being built up tightly and quickly, but chaotically. In 1792, after the Volyn lands were annexed to the Russian Empire, certain legal rights were abolished. In 1893, a decree was issued on the liquidation of the Jesuit monastery, and the provincial offices were to be located in the buildings of law.

During the period of the military operation to liberate the city from the German fascist invaders, most of the surviving buildings of the law were completely destroyed. In 1960-1980. in their place was built a complex of residential buildings and buildings for a number of organizations. To date, only a dilapidated two-story building of the cell building remains of all the old buildings of the monastery complex.

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

We also recommend reading Circus of dancing fountains ”Aquamarine” description and photo - Russia - Moscow: Moscow

Topic: Ruins of the Jesuit monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Zhitomir.Ruins of the Jesuit monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Zhitomir

Author: Kelly Costine

LiveInternet