Rating: 8,4/10 (1011 votes)
Novogrudok Museum of History and Local Lore description and photos - Belarus: Novogrudok. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Novogrudok Museum of History and Local Lore was founded in 1987, in 1992 the museum was opened to visitors. Now the exposition of the museum is located in 9 halls with a total area of 250 square meters. The exposition numbers more than 15 thousand items.
Novogrudok is an ancient city with a long history. Recently, a large number of archaeological excavations have been carried out in the city. The most interesting exhibits await visitors in the halls demonstrating archaeological finds made in the ruins of the Novogrudok castle, on the territory of ancient human sites.
People appeared in these lands a long time ago. The earliest archaeological finds of the Svidersk archaeological culture date back to IX-VIII BC. In 1044 the city of Novogrudok (or Novogorodok) was founded. In 1246, Prince Mindovg was baptized, who later built the stone Novogrudok church. The most valuable archaeological exhibit of the museum is the petrified hedgehog, which is about 80 million years old. Such a find proves that the area of modern Novogrudok was once the bottom of a prehistoric ocean.
The ethnographic section of the museum displays a large number of ethnic national clothes decorated with embroideries, tapestries, ornaments, household items, tools with which they were spun , weaved, built houses and temples. Here you can see embroidered towels and shirts, wicker baskets, clay jugs, headdresses.
The section dedicated to the Great Patriotic War tells about the heroes of the partisan movement and underground workers, about the liberation of Novogrudok by Soviet troops.
We also recommend reading Vileika reservoir description and photos - Belarus: Vileika
Topic: Novogrudok Museum of History and Local Lore description and photos - Belarus: Novogrudok.