Rating: 7,6/10 (500 votes)
Church of Boris and Gleb in the village of Vyshgorodok description and photos - Russia - North-West: Pskov region. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Church of Saints Boris and Gleb is located in the city of Vyshgorodok, namely on a high mountain in the area of the ancient settlement. The first mention of Vyshgorodok dates back to 1427, when the church of Boris and Gleb was first mentioned in the chronicle sources. In 1474, an agreement was drawn up between the city of Pskov and Livonia for a period of 20 years. At the same time, the order renounced any claims to the undivided territory, i.e. to the zone that was located outside the borders of the Red City. It was this event that became the reason for strengthening the border region in the future. The vyshgorodok was built in 1476, which became a Pskov suburb.
Two mayors were sent to found the new city: Moisey Fedorovich and Aleksey Vasilyevich with accompanying boyars. According to the historical description of the city of Pskov, which was made by Ilyinsky's hand, information has reached us that the sent Pskovs were able to lay the city on June 20 in tribute to the memory of the Holy Prophet Elijah.
The construction of Vyshgorodok dates back to 1476. a new church, consecrated in the name of Saints Boris and Gleb. According to the Pskov chronicle dating back to 1480, one can find out that the church was mentioned when the German troops attacked the city, and it was then that the church burned down, while the Germans killed more than eighty people.
The main factor in the formation of the new suburb was poverty, touching the ground. The defensive function also played a very important role. In addition, Vyshgorodok was related to the first line of defense.
The new church of Boris and Gleb was built in 1690 - this date is mentioned in the inscription on the wooden cross, which has been preserved under the throne of this church. At this time, the consecration of the church altar in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ took place, and the church was consecrated in the name of Saints Paul and Gleb. This ceremony was attended by the Grand Dukes Peter and John Alekseevich, as well as the Moscow Patriarch Joachim, as well as the Izborsk and Pskov Metropolitan Markell.
The temple had a simple structure and a gable roof, as well as two adjacent rectangular log cabins. The first blockhouse was relatively large and represented the central part of the church, on which there was a hexagonal bell tower with a gallery that housed the bells. The second blockhouse was a little smaller and looked like an altar.
During 1891, not far from the old temple, on the territory of the same settlement, a new majestic one was built and built of brickwork, or rather red brick. The construction of the temple was the idea of the island landowner Vladimir Izedinov, as well as the hard work of the local parable and the Vyshgorodets parish. The consecration of the church took place in the fall of September 17, 1891 in honor of the Holy Blessed Princes Boris and Gleb.
The church bell tower had two ancient bells, which were cast in the 16th century in Vyshgorodok. The largest bell reached a weight of 1225 kg and was donated to the church in 1910 by three brothers who were from the village of Klimovo: Vasily, Ivan and Georgy Rukavishnikov. In the interior decoration of the church of Boris and Gleb there were many artistic icons, among which there were icons painted with ancient Italian script. The old church, built of wood, was completely dismantled due to dilapidation, and only the altar part remained from it.
There were three chapels in the parish. The first chapel was stone and was located near the village of Nikolskoye, the construction of which took place in 1851. In addition, there were two more wooden chapels in the parish, located not far from the village of Melnitsy and in the village of Klimovo. The church parish had four more cemeteries, not counting one ancient one, located not far from the temple building itself. The cemeteries were located in the villages of Klimovo, Shkurly, Petrushenki and Bolshaya Mill.
In the church of Saints Boris and Gleb there was a two-cleric parable.
We also recommend reading Museum of Private Collections description and photos - Russia - Moscow: Moscow
Topic: Church of Boris and Gleb in the village of Vyshgorodok description and photos - Russia - North-West: Pskov region.