Rating: 8,9/10 (214 votes)
St. Nicholas Monastery description and photos - Belarus: Gomel. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Gomel men's monastery in the name of St. Nicholas of Mirliki was founded in 1994.
In 1904, the church of St. Nicholas was built. The temple was built with funds raised by the board of trustees formed by employees of the Polesie railway. There were very famous people among the donors. The land on which the church was built was donated by the famous Gomel benefactor, Princess Irina Ivanovna Paskevich-Erivanskaya. John of Kronstadt, who was canonized after death and became one of the most revered Orthodox saints, supported the builders and trustees by considerable means, blessings and prayers. On October 22, 1904, on the feast of the icon of the Kazan Mother of God, the new church was consecrated.
In 1929, Soviet power came to Gomel, and with it repression against all religions and beliefs. This misfortune also did not pass by the St. Nicholas Church. It was closed and a smithy was organized in the premises of the former church.
During the Great Patriotic War, the Nazi invaders opened all the churches of the city. Including the Nikolskaya Church was opened. Since then, the church has never been closed, and in 1994 it was decided to open a monastery with it. At first, the fraternal cells were made of wood. A fraternal choir was organized at the monastery.
Big changes affected the monastery after 2000, when it was decided to first build a stone brotherly building, then the gate church of Dionysius of Radonezh.
At the moment Nikolsky Monastery is the only active monastery in Gomel.
We also recommend reading National Monument description and photos - Indonesia: Jakarta
Topic: St. Nicholas Monastery description and photos - Belarus: Gomel.