Rating: 8,8/10 (1020 votes)
Emsburg Palace (Schloss Emsburg) description and photos - Austria: Salzburg (city). Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The name in English is Schloss Emsburg.
Photo and description
Emsburg Palace is located 5 kilometers south of the city of Salzburg. It was built in 1619-1620 right after the construction of the larger Helbrunn Castle. This palace was also intended as a summer residence for Archbishop Markus Zittikus, but by the time of his death the construction had not been completed.
Construction was completed only in the middle of the 17th century, and in 1701 the building was transferred to the Order of the Knights of the Saint Rupert, whose coats of arms still adorn the doors and windows of the building. The palace itself is a four-cornered three-storey building, the roof of which is crowned on the sides with four pointed obelisks. In the 19th century, a magnificent staircase with a balustrade was erected, leading to the main entrance to the castle, decorated with columns supporting an elegant balcony.
Especially worth noting are the palace grounds, where a spacious park is located, famous for its romantic bridges thrown over a small river Helbrunn, flowing in the territory of the Embsurg Palace and the Helbrunn castle of the same name. There are eight such bridges in total. Also not far from the castle is the building of a former dairy farm, built simultaneously with the palace itself in the middle of the 17th century, and a small old mill of the same era, made in the so-called "peasant" style. However, the dairy farm was heavily rebuilt in 1961 and is now used as a residential building.
For a long time, the Emsburg Palace served as a school at the Franciscan monastery, but since 2013 it has passed into private ownership. However,
Topic: Emsburg Palace (Schloss Emsburg) description and photos - Austria: Salzburg (city).