Annunciation Church of the Pskov-Pechersky Monastery description and photos - Russia - North-West: Pechory. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
Not far from the main Assumption Church, closer to the eastern part, there is a church consecrated in the name of the Annunciation of Our Lady. The church was erected by the Monk Cornelius in the place where the church in the name of the Forty Martyrs of Sebastia had previously stood, which was soon dismantled and moved behind the monastery fence. The consecration of the temple took place on October 15, 1541 with the blessing of Macarius, Archbishop of Pskov and Novgorod - it is about this event that the canvas antimis, which has an eight-pointed cross, which was found in 1869 during repair work on the stone throne, narrates. Under Archimandrite Benedict, namely in 1803, a side-altar was built in the Annunciation Church, consecrated in the name of the noble saints Boris and Gleb, which was brought from the top floor of this very church; under the head of the Church of the Annunciation to this day, you can still see traces of the previously located altar. The second side-altar was consecrated in the name of St. Varlaam of Khutynsky, who was brought here from a tent located in the bell tower. Throughout 1870, the Sretensky Church was built instead of the previously mentioned side-altars.
If we judge about the architectural component of the Annunciation Church at the Pskov-Pechersky Monastery, it is worth noting that the church was located very close to the building of a certain Brotherhood building, as well as the western facade corresponds to the Sretenskaya Church. The church is represented by a pillarless, two-story and one chapter; the overall composition of the church stands on a four-meter basement with a southern side-chapel in the name of Varlaam Khutynsky, as well as an upper quadrangle, the so-called Borisoglebsky side-altar. The main entrance to the main church building passes through the side chapel. On the basement there are two small chambers, which are located under the main quadrangle and the side-altar, and are covered with corrugated arches. The quadruple is equipped with a semicircular apse in the very thickness of the wall, which is not visible from the outside; the quadruple itself is also covered with a corrugated vault. The church building is illuminated by three windows located on the northern part of the facade. The overlapping of the southern side-chapel was carried out by a box vault, which has a special tray on the south side, as well as stripping over the windows. The quadruple, located at the top, can be accessed directly from the side chamber, following a narrow staircase inside the wall. This quadrangle is covered with a cylindrical vault with heels at the floor level. In the center there is a dissection of the vault. The wall to the east is flat and there are niches for the deacon and the sacrificer. The main volume is covered in the form of a four-pitched roof, and the upper four-piece has an eight-pitched roof.
The entire building of the Annunciation Church is a wing of the Sretenskaya Church and is separated from its building only by the facade color. From the Sacristy, a sample was taken of the window frames of the northern facade of the temple - they were whitewashed in white and the horizontal traction between the first floor and the basement, as well as the cornices of the upper quadrangle and the main volume, were left in the same color. On the south wall of the quadrangle located on top, there is a semicircular niche equipped with a roller frame along the edge. In the niche itself there is a stretcher decorated with oil painting on the "Annunciation" plot. The drum of the church is made deaf and painted with red ocher to match the color of the facade, and in the upper part there is a temple-created inscription (ligature). The church belt is made of ceramic tiles and decorated with white glaze. In the tiles themselves, the outlines of letters are cut, which are filled with a dark green glaze. The text of the inscription says about the construction of the church during the reign of the great Emperor Ivan Vasilyevich. This temple-created belt is known for being the earliest of all the known examples of Pskov architecture of the 16th century. The head of the church is painted blue with gilded overhead stars.The head of the church is painted blue with gilded overhead stars. The head of the church is painted blue with gilded overhead stars.
We also recommend reading Pantheon of writers and public figures of Georgia Mtatsminda description and photos - Georgia: Tbilisi
Topic: Annunciation Church of the Pskov-Pechersky Monastery description and photos - Russia - North-West: Pechory.