Convent in Halle (Haller Damenstift) description and photos - Austria: Tyrol. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The title in English is Haller Damenstift.
Photo and description
The convent in the Tyrolean town of Halle functioned from 1567 to 1783. It was founded by Emperor Ferdinand II for his unmarried sisters Magdalena and Helena. In 1569, after the completion of the construction of the monastery, these two princesses, together with 40 court ladies, were able to settle here. In 1570, the monastery church of the Sacred Heart was consecrated, which now has the status of a basilica. Both the monastery and the Renaissance temple were designed by the Italian architects Giovanni and Alberto Luschez. The monastery complex also included the house of the conductor, a small seminary, a monastery garden and a doctor's villa. The monastery was ruled by the Jesuit order.
Since wealthy aristocratic ladies lived in the convent in Halle, their carefree, a godly life had to be sustained by substantial financial injections. The nuns themselves were engaged in investing their own funds in various income-generating enterprises.
The monastery complex was changed in 1611-1612. The main building of the cloister and the church were rebuilt in a Baroque manner. In 1670, an earthquake struck in the mountains near Halle, which significantly damaged the convent. He again needed repairs, which were carried out immediately. In 1783, by order of Emperor Joseph II, the monastery was closed. The main building of the monastery was turned into an ordinary residential building, and the church was desecrated. In 1845, the city hospital was founded here. In 1912 the monastery became active again. The religious order of the Sacred Heart of Jesus took care of him.
We also recommend reading Art Museum Basel (Kunstmuseum Basel) description and photos - Switzerland: Basel
Topic: Convent in Halle (Haller Damenstift) description and photos - Austria: Tyrol.