Rating: 8,7/10 (6534 votes)
Asenov fortress description and photos - Bulgaria: Asenovgrad. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
Asenov Fortress is a medieval fortress in the Rhodope Mountains, located on the rise of the left bank of the Chepelarskaya River, 2-3 kilometers south of Asenovgrad. According to data based on archaeological excavations, the first fortifications in this area appeared in the 9th century. In particular, this is evidenced by the found coins of the times of the ruler Theophilos.
Asen's fortress was an important center that controlled the movement through the river valley to the Aegean Sea from Plovdiv. This was facilitated by the advantageous location right in the Rhodope Mountains.
Initially, the fortress was just a small tower, around which rural buildings began to settle over time. Later, they split into two tiny villages - Stenimaka and Petrich.
For the first time, mentions of the Assen fortress were found in the charter of the Bachkovo monastery of the 11th century: it refers to the "fortified settlement of Petrich". By the way, this settlement existed only until the XIV century. During the period of the Third Crusade, the fortress was captured, then it was referred to as Skribentsion.
The fortress was rebuilt in 1231, during the reign of Ivan Assen II. According to the inscription on the wall, the reconstruction was necessary for the defense of the Bulgarians from the Latins. The height of the walls became 12 meters, the width - 3 meters. In fact, it was a feudal castle. Today, there you can see the surviving three cisterns-reservoirs and three dozen different rooms.
The temple of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary of the XII-XIII centuries has been perfectly preserved. This is a two-storey one-nave cross-domed church. The inside of the church is decorated with frescoes by craftsmen of the 14th century.
The fortress was captured by the Byzantines after the death of the Bulgarian king Asen II, it was again returned by the Bulgarian king John-Alexander closer to the middle of the XIV century. But after it was captured by the Turks. During this period, the fortress was abandoned, only the church functioned.
The Russians in 1878, advancing on the Ottoman troops, recaptured, along with the village of Stanimak, the ruins of the Asen fortress. In 1934, the city was renamed Asenovgrad, and in the 70s active archaeological work began on the territory of the fortress.
By 1991, experts completed the restoration of the fortress and it turned into a national cultural monument.
We also recommend reading Floating houses area Belen description and photos - Peru: Iquitos
Topic: Asenov fortress description and photos - Bulgaria: Asenovgrad.