Rating: 8,4/10 (1142 votes)
The Catacombs of San Giovanni are ancient catacombs dated IV – VI centuries BC At the turn of the XIX – XX centuries, the catacombs were carefully studied by the archaeologist Paolo Orsi. These are currently the only catacombs in Syracuse open to the general public, making them a popular tourist attraction.
The San Giovanni Catacombs are the latest in Syracuse – in IV – VI centuries BC they were used as a Christian cemetery.
The catacombs got their name from the Romanesque church of St. John the Evangelist (Italian San Giovanni), built in the Norman era. Later, Gothic elements appeared in the architecture of the church. In 1693, the church was completely destroyed during an earthquake.
In the 19th century, Saverio Cavallari discovered a 5th century sarcophagus in the catacombs, which was later named the sarcophagus of Adelphia. After that, a detailed study of the cemetery was started. During the Second World War, local residents took refuge in the dungeons of San Giovanni. Currently, the crypt of San Marciano, the ruins of the Church of San Giovanni and the catacombs themselves are a single museum complex, and are open to tourists.
One of the features of the catacombs – no family burials. There are large arcosoliums, which are a deep arch with 20 graves.
We also recommend reading Roman theater in Italy, Verona resort
Topic: Catacombs of San Giovanni in Italy, resort of Sicily.