Rating: 7,5/10 (100 votes)
Munster Cathedral is one of the most significant church buildings in Westphalia. Nowadays, the cathedral houses the pulpit of the Bishop of Munster.
In 799-800, Ludger, a missionary, founded a monastery of the Benedictine order in Verdun. At the same time, he continued his activities aimed at the creation of the Munster bishopric. In 805, the first cathedral was erected in the city, which was consecrated in honor of St. Ludger. During excavations carried out in 1936, it was discovered that the Cathedral of St. Ludger was located in the place where today is the cemetery courtyard and the covered gallery of St. Paul's Cathedral. The cathedral was demolished in 1377 by order of Bishop Florenz von Wefelinghofen.
The second cathedral was erected not far from the first. The construction of the Cathedral of the Ottonids began in 1071. In 1192 a westwork was added to the cathedral. Subsequently, the current St. Paul's Cathedral was erected on the ruins of the cathedral. Only the wall of the transverse western nave, most of the northern wall and the southern wall of the longitudinal side nave have survived from the Ottonid cathedral.
The construction of the third cathedral was started in 1225. The building has been under construction for almost 40 years. In September 1264, the cathedral was solemnly consecrated. Initially, the cathedral was made in a mixture of Romanesque and Gothic styles, but in 1516 it partially acquired the late Gothic style, in which it has survived to our time.
During the Second World War, the cathedral was seriously damaged – all wall paintings were irretrievably lost, fortunately all church inventory was evacuated in advance. In 1946, reconstruction work began in the cathedral, during which the building was completely restored. In 1981, a new hall of the cathedral was opened, where today you can observe art and other cultural values.
In 1408, an astronomical clock was installed in the cathedral, which in 1534 was destroyed by the Anabaptists. In 1542, a new watch was created. In 1696, the clockwork was renewed, and the figures of Death and Chronos were added to the decoration. During the Second World War, the clock was moved from the cathedral to a safe place. In 1951, the astronomical clock was restarted.
Another of the main attractions of the cathedral is the triumphal cross, created in the 13th century. Initially, the cross was located on the wall. The cross was moved to the altar in 1973.
We also recommend reading Aachen Cathedral in Germany, resort of Aachen
Topic: St. Paul's Cathedral in Germany, Munster resort.