Rating: 7,5/10 (100 votes)
Its name translates to 'the monastery of the royal barefoot nuns'. It was founded in 1559 by Juana of Austria. Her daughter chose the monastic life, refusing to marry Felipe II. Since then, nuns have lived here for 200 years.
Behind the austere facade of the monastery are paintings by Bruegel the Elder, Titian and Zurbaran, as well as tapestries, which were created based on paintings by Rubens.
The monastery is still in operation. Now there are several nuns who have their own household in the garden adjacent to the monastery.
We also recommend reading Old town in Greece, Rhodes resort
Topic: Monastery of Descalzas Reales (Real Monasterio de las Descalzas Re in Spain, Madrid resort.