Rating: 8,6/10 (1384 votes)
From 1309 to 1522, the Order of the Hospitallers owned the island. It was divided into `` nations '' or `` languages. '' `` Languages '' there were eight: Castile, Aragon, Germany, England, Italy, France, Auvergne and Provence. Residences of each of the `` languages '' were just on the Street of the Knights.
The width of this street – 6 meters, and length – 200 meters. During the Turkish rule, the buildings were turned into barracks. And the Italians during their reign on the island (from 1912 to 1943) restored the residences, removing all Turkish extensions.
The most impressive residence of the street – it is the residence of the 'language' France. It was built at the beginning of the 16th century. The building is decorated with four towers with battlements between them. Gutters are quite original – they are made in the form of crocodiles.
Nearby is the Chapel of the `` tongue '' France. Its facade is decorated with a statue of Our Lady. On this chapel you can see the Coat of Arms of the Grand Master Raymond Beranger. This means that the chapel was built during his reign – from 1365 to 1374. This makes it one of the oldest buildings on Knights Street.
Government offices and museums are now located on this street.
We also recommend reading City Hall in the Czech Republic, Olomouc spa
Topic: Street of the Knights in Greece, Rhodes resort.