Church of the Life-Giving Trinity on Shabolovka description and photos - Russia - Moscow: Moscow. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
Shabolovka street appeared in Moscow in the 18th century. Its history is associated with the village of Shabolovo near Moscow and the road to it, along which people gradually began to settle at the end of the previous century. Around the same time, the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity was built, standing on Shabolovka.
The foundation of the temple took place in 1698, and the construction was completed the next year. The first church was wooden and was erected on a site that belonged to the Danilov Monastery, and a cemetery was also arranged at the temple.
In just twenty years, a decision was made to rebuild the building, as the number of parishioners became noticeably larger. So a side-altar appeared near the temple, consecrated in honor of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos. After about two more decades, the parishioners began to consider their church dilapidated and petitioned the Archbishop of Moscow and Vladimir Joseph to build a new stone building for the Trinity Church. Their request was granted, and the old building was dismantled, and in its place in 1745-1747 another was built, made of stone. The temple was consecrated in 1747, but work in it, mainly on landscaping and interior decoration, continued until 1790.
Not much time passed, and in 1827 the parishioners again decided that the church needed renovation. The collection of donations was started, the famous architect Nikolai Kozlovsky developed a project for the construction of two new side-chapels on the site of the small bell tower. However, Metropolitan Filaret of Moscow gave permission for the reconstruction of the church only in 1840, and three years later he consecrated the renovated temple. The next expansion of the temple took place at the end of the 19th century and took place according to a project drawn up by the architect Nikolai Nikitin, and under the supervision of his colleague Mikhail Ivanov.
In the 30s of the last century, the temple was closed, and its building, devoid of a tent and the top of the bell tower, served as a club. In the 90s, the building was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church, parishioners took no less active part than their predecessors in the restoration of the church.
We also recommend reading Ancient pagan sanctuaries description and photos - Ukraine: Zaporozhye
Topic: Church of the Life-Giving Trinity on Shabolovka description and photos - Russia - Moscow: Moscow.