Rating: 7,5/10 (100 votes)
Church of St. Nicholas the Good description and photo - Ukraine: Kiev. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Cathedral of St. Nicholas the Good stood on Podil in pre-Mongol times, but more mentions of it are found already in the 16th century. It was then, at the expense of the legendary Cossack Samil Koshka, that the temple of Nicholas the Wonderworker was restored instead of the old one that had previously burned down.
There are no exact statements about why the temple has such a name - St. Nicholas the Good. Perhaps this is due to the fact that an almshouse for the poor and sick worked at the temple, and perhaps because a lot of money was spent on one of its predecessors by the merchant Dobrik, who received a ransom from a captive Polovtsian.
In August 1651, , during the invasion of the troops of Janusz Radziwill, the temple burned down. Only in 1682 it was restored in the form of a five-bath wooden church, which also burned down after a couple of decades, but already from being hit by lightning. To prevent anything like this from happening to the temple, in 1716 it was rebuilt in stone. A bell tower was built nearby, which has survived to this day. However, by the end of the 18th century, the church fell into decay, especially due to the fire, which provoked the appearance of cracks in the walls, which were constantly increasing. In 1800, the future chief architect of Kiev, Andrey Melensky, dismantled the temple that had fallen into disrepair and began to erect a new one in its place, choosing the then fashionable style of classicism for construction. The construction was delayed for seven years, and after that the temple became one of the most beautiful and popular in Podil. It was here, after the restoration carried out at the beginning of the twentieth century, that the famous writer Mikhail Bulgakov got married, and his mother was buried there later.
In the 30s of the twentieth century, the temple was closed, and his priest was repressed. In 1935, the Church of St. Nicholas the Good was completely destroyed, and a school was built in its place. The only thing that remains of the temple complex is a bell tower unusual for these parts.
We also recommend reading Holy Trinity Cathedral description and photos - Latvia: Liepaja
Topic: Church of St. Nicholas the Good description and photo - Ukraine: Kiev.