Rating: 7,8/10 (405 votes)
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary description and photos - Russia - Caucasus: Stavropol. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, located in the city of Stavropol at the Assumption Cemetery, was founded in June 1847. Funds for its construction were donated by local merchants.
During the construction of the temple, local materials were used: lime-shell stones of Stavropol Mountain, lime from Pyatigorsk, Kuban and Tatar forests, sand from Orlovskaya gully. The construction of the church was completed in 1849. The solemn consecration of the church with a throne in the name of the Dormition of the Mother of God took place on August 15 of the same year.
The Church of the Assumption of the Most Holy Theotokos is an interesting manifestation of the Russian-Byzantine style. Despite all the characteristic features of this style, the temple has an individual and austere appearance. The church is small in size, but due to its height, it looks majestic.
The traditional three-part internal space (the temple itself, the vestibule and the altar), clearly expressed in its appearance, became the basis of the architectural solution of the temple. The central part of the church is higher than the rest, it is crowned with a head raised on an octagonal drum with a fixed main cross. Four more domes with crosses can be seen in the corners of the roof. In 1873, a side-chapel was added on the south side of the temple, consecrated in the name of the Ascension of the Lord.
The church, located on the outskirts of the city, has become a parish. Baptism, wedding, and funeral rites were held here. The Assumption Church is the only one in the city that remained active under the Soviet regime. In the 60s. the church began to gradually deteriorate, so in 1966 it was overhauled. And three years later the temple was recognized as an architectural monument of local importance.
In 1998, on the north side of the temple, on the old foundation, the construction of a new side-chapel was started, consecrated in the same year in the name of the Iberian Icon of the Mother of God.
On the territory of the temple there is a whole spiritual and historical complex, which includes the temple itself, the holy water chapel, the gymnasium and the memorial cemetery.
We also recommend reading Cathedral of Procopius description and photo - Russia - Northwest: Veliky Ustyug
Topic: Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary description and photos - Russia - Caucasus: Stavropol.