Rating: 8,0/10 (1932 votes)
Former Brigitte Monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Lutsk. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The building of the former Brigitte Monastery in Lutsk is an architectural monument of national importance. It is located in the historical and cultural reserve "Old Lutsk" on Kafedralna Street, 16.
The Brigitte Monastery in Lutsk appeared in 1624 on the site of the Radziwills' palace, which occupied the southern part of the territory of the Okolny Castle and in XV-XVI Art. was one of the links in the city's defense system. In the XVII century. the Brigitte Monastery was the largest monastery in the city. Then the headman Albrecht Radziwill gave his palace to the novices. It was expanded and converted into a monastery, and a temple was also built near it. All this together became not only a holy abode, but also an educational and educational school for many girls living here.
The monastery existed only until 1845. Due to the stubbornness of the rulers, the monastery burned down that year - they did not let the townspeople into the territory of the monastery so that they could help put out the fire. As a result, the fire spread to neighboring buildings, and then to the entire city. After these events, the city authorities confiscated all the property and funds of the Brigitte Monastery. The monastery itself was abolished, and the Brigitteans were exiled to Dubno, and then to Grodno.
In the monastery building that survived after the fire, the city authorities in 1890 opened a district prison, which existed until 1960. As a result of fires and reconstruction after them, the building lost its original appearance. In addition to dismantling the tower, knocking down the decor, the monastery premises received a third floor. In the interior, apart from the third floor, it has cross vaults. The monastery has preserved two-tiered dungeons leading to the river.
Today the premises of the converted church and cells are empty. The building remained unkempt and requires major repairs. One part of the building houses the Holy Archangel Castle Monastery of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the Kiev Patriarchate.
We also recommend reading Waterfall Tat Kuang Si (Kuang Si Falls) description and photos - Laos: Luang Prabang
Topic: Former Brigitte Monastery description and photos - Ukraine: Lutsk.