Rating: 9,3/10 (3904 votes)
Nydeggkirche church description and photos - Switzerland: Bern. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The name in English is Nydeggkirche.
Photo and description
The Nidegkirche Church is located on the eastern edge of Bern's Old Town in the Nideg Fort. The old town is located on a peninsula, in the loop of the Aare River and developed in stages. Bern's first expansion took place in 1191. In 1190, in the eastern part of the peninsula, Count Berthold V von Tseringen founded a small fort called Nideg Castle. After the death of the Tseringen family, the castle was transferred to the possession of the city and demolished in the period from 1268 to 1270 by the inhabitants of Bern, who sought to improve the fort of Nideg. The castle building consisted of two corner towers and was located on the site where the church choir now stands.
The original small church with a spire, dedicated to Mary Magdalene, was built from 1341 to 1346 to replace the old fortress. In the years 1480-1483 a bell tower was added to it, in 1493-1504 a new nave was built. After the Reformation, in 1529 Nidegkirche was turned into a warehouse for barrels, timber and grain, but in 1566 it was rebuilt as a place of worship.
In 1863, the church was expanded to the west, and another entrance from the Niedegbrucke bridge. Then, from 1951 to 1953, a complete reconstruction of the building was carried out, both inside and outside. During the reconstruction, the architect Marcel Perinkaioli created bronze reliefs that were added to the design of the main entrance and the entrance from the bridge.
In 1857, the Nideghoflibrunen (or Staldenbrunen) fountain was installed in the courtyard in front of the church. Then in 1968 a monument to Count Berthold V von Tseringen appeared there.
We also recommend reading Stift Schlaegl, description and photos - Austria: Upper Austria
Topic: Nydeggkirche church description and photos - Switzerland: Bern.