Rating: 8,9/10 (8695 votes)
Exchange building description and photos - Russia - Volga region: Saratov. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photos and a map showing the nearest significant objects.
Photo and description
The building on Teatralnaya Square (intersection of Moskovskaya and Radishcheva streets) was built in 1890 by the chairman of the Exchange Committee and the city mayor Pavel Kokuev according to the project of the architect F.I.Shuster.
At the end of the nineteenth century, Saratov became a large commercial and industrial city. The rapidly developing industry demanded a professional approach to sales, not limited to the framework of the province. Transactions concluded in taverns and restaurants had a verbal agreement and did not bear any responsibility for goods spoiled on the way, fire and other unforeseen circumstances. This and many other things forced the large Saratov merchants to get together and organize the Exchange Committee, on the basis of the charter and rules of which transactions were subsequently concluded by trade experts - brokers.
For membership fees of the Exchange Committee, a project was ordered to the academician of architecture Franz Schuster for the construction of a fiefdom for stock traders. Less than a year later, a beautiful new building was solemnly opened for Saratov entrepreneurs, merchants and manufacturers. At first, the exchange was called a commodity exchange, since the main subject of the transaction was the commodity, but over time, the securities market increased (bonds, treasury bills and shares) and in 1900 the stock exchange project was approved.
In the same year, the exchange committee decides to expand the exchange building in the form of an extension. The city architect Salko took over this, and in 1904 the exchange building acquired not only additional operating rooms, but also a majestic facade that organically fit into the development of new buildings on Nikolskaya Street (now Radishcheva).
The architectural ensemble of the central section of Radishcheva Street was built at the end of the nineteenth century in a single rhythm and, according to experts, constitutes a compositional unity. It is enough to look at the buildings close to the stock exchange building to understand the whole plan of the city architect: District Court (1871), City Passage (1881), Radishchev Museum (1885).
In 1918 The stockbrokers were "asked" from the building by the Red Army and organized a club in it. In 1935. the history department of the university was opened in the building of the exchange. In 1999. - the first building of the Volga State Academy of Public Administration (PAGS) named after Stolypin settled in a historic building, where it is located to this day.
We also recommend reading Church of St. George the Victorious description and photo - Belarus: Bobruisk
Topic: Exchange building description and photos - Russia - Volga region: Saratov.