Rating: 8,2/10 (4878 votes)
Wat Ho Xiang temple description and photos - Laos: Luang Prabang. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The name in English is Wat Ho Xiang.
Photo and description
Wat Hua Xiang is located on a small hill southwest of Mount Fousi and adjacent to the Wat That shrine. It was built in 1705 to commemorate and commemorate the ceremony that took place in 1548. Then King Settatirat chose the place for the construction of the future temple of Wat That. The Wat Hua Xiang temple has the status of Bana, that is, it is equated to a village, which means that monks can live on its territory. In 2008, 30 Buddhist monks, including one woman, considered the temple their home. She wears a white robe and shaves her head. Her role is to run the household. There are very few such "nuns" in the monasteries of Luang Prabang.
Wat Hua Xiang was founded under King Khuang Sen Mux in the early 18th century to replace older sacral buildings.
During its existence, this temple has undergone many reconstructions, the most significant of which took place in 1823-1824. During a severe storm in 1900, the sanctuary was seriously damaged, but was rebuilt during the colonial period. The octagonal outer gilded pillars supporting the roof were added in 1952 (they were originally square and covered with a layer of white plaster). In 1973, 1990 and 2005 the temple was renovated.
Wat Hua Xiang is decorated in a simple style and practically does not stand out among the many temples of Luang Prabang. In front of its entrance, you can see sculptural images of multi-headed naga water kites. The main pediment is decorated with colorful frescoes on religious themes. Here you can also consider the plots of the punishment of the villains.
We also recommend reading Church of the Holy Seven Numbers description and photos - Bulgaria: Sofia
Topic: Wat Ho Xiang temple description and photos - Laos: Luang Prabang.