Trg bana Jelacica square description and photos - Croatia: Zagreb. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The title in English is Trg bana Jelacica.
Photo and description
Ban Josip Jelacic Square is located in the center of the Croatian capital, Zagreb. The square also has other popular names: it is called Jelachicheva Square and Jelachich Platz. Earlier names of this place: Kharmita and Republic Square. The square received its name in honor of the former in 1848-1859 a Croatian bathhouse, the commander Count Josip Jelacic-Buzimski.
Jelaciceva Square is located below the historical districts of Zagreb Kaptola and Hradec, south of the Dolac market. The main metropolitan street Ilica, st. Pavel Radicha, st. Kharmitz, st. Plavnitsa, st. Bakachev, st. Nikole Yurishich, st. Prashka and st. Ludevita Gaya. This square is located in the center of the pedestrian zone of Zagreb's Lower City.
The first name of the square that appeared in the 17th century is Kharmita. The buildings surrounding the square are built in the styles of Classicism, Baroque and Art Nouveau. The oldest building is house number 18, which was erected in 1827.
In the center of the square there is a statue of Ban Jelacic on a horse, which was installed on 19.10.1866. The author of the sculpture is Anton Dominik Fernkorn. The name of the ban was given to the square in 1848. In 1947, the Yugoslav communists dismantled the statue and placed it in the basement of the Glyptotek Museum. Since that time, the square has become known as the Republic Square.
For the 1987 Zagreb Universiade, the square was renovated and included in the pedestrian zone. At the same time, the Mandushevac fountain was restored, which in 1898 was removed to the underground collector with the Medveschak stream. Since 1990, the square has returned to its former name, the statue has been returned to its place,
Topic: Trg bana Jelacica square description and photos - Croatia: Zagreb.