Rating: 8,3/10 (2043 votes)
The Orthodox Church of the Holy Trinity is a historical architectural monument located in the town of Bansko.
The construction of the church was carried out shortly after the liberation of Bulgaria from the Ottoman Empire, in 1885, with the voluntary donations of the inhabitants of Izvorsk.
During the communist rule, the church did not function for 20 years. During this time, the temple was plundered – priceless icons, candlesticks, chandeliers and other valuable items were taken out.
Before the restoration began, the church was a dilapidated building, the roof was also missing. The leaders of the project for the restoration and restoration of architectural monuments and the inhabitants of the village of Izvorska made enormous efforts to restore this temple.
The mayor of the village Ivan Ivanov was the main initiator of the event. Since 2004, restoration work has been carried out here, and today the temple has been completely restored and open to visitors.
During the work, a new roof was built, the facade of the building was repaired, and the electrical system and floor coverings were replaced. Professional craftsmen were invited to restore the iconostasis. A 1.5 hectare garden was also laid out around the church.
In May 2007, the temple was consecrated by His Grace Bishop Kirill.
We also recommend reading Salt Museum in Bulgaria, Pomorie resort
Topic: Orthodox Church of the Holy Trinity in Bulgaria, Bansko resort.