Rating: 8,5/10 (1355 votes)
In the 13th century, the city cemetery was located around the Church of St. Jacob. Due to the limited area for new burials, soon there was simply not enough land.
The local authorities decided on a temporary burial, that is, 10-12 years later, the grave was dug up and the remains were transferred to the ossuary, and the free space was used for a new burial. This is probably the reason for the creation of the basements under the church. Cholera and plague, which raged in cities and villages, dramatically increased the number of remains in the ossuary, and therefore it was expanded towards the cemetery. But it also filled up soon.
In 1784, the reforms of Emperor Joseph II led to the closure of the cemetery. All remains were transferred to the ossuary, after which the entrance to it was sealed with a stone slab. The unnecessary tombstones were used to create a square around the Church of St. Jacob.
The ossuary was eventually forgotten. In 2001, after an archaeological excavation, a dungeon was discovered with remains, which were counted about 50 thousand.
Nowadays, the ossuary is a popular attraction in Brno.
We also recommend reading Stavrovouni Monastery in Cyprus, Troodos Resort
Topic: Church of St. Jakub in the Czech Republic, Brno resort.