Rating: 8,2/10 (4452 votes)
The Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas is a courtyard of the Russian Orthodox Church in the city of Sofia.
In 1878, after the Russian-Turkish war, a significant Russian community was formed in the city, which consisted mainly of Russian experts. At the same time, the idea arose to arrange a separate church for this community.
In 1882, the city authorities provided a plot on the site of a destroyed market mosque. For the construction of the temple, a committee was created to collect donations. The construction of the temple was planned to begin in 1902, but was often postponed for various reasons. Members of the Russian community all this time were praying in a hall located in a diplomatic agency.
In 1907, in the presence of the Bulgarian prince Ferdinand, the heir to the throne Boris and Prince Vladimir Alexandrovich, the foundation of the modern church took place.
The design of the church was entrusted to Mikhail Timofeevich Preobrazhensky. In 1911, the construction of the church was completed, but for another two years the decoration and painting continued.
In 1914, the temple was consecrated by Metropolitan Dorostolsky and Chervenkoy Vasily in the ministry of members of the Synod and the Russian clergy.
In 1915, after Bulgaria took part in the First World War on the side of the Axis countries, all diplomatic relations between Russia and Bulgaria were interrupted, as well as the divine service in the temple was stopped.
Until 1933, the temple was under the jurisdiction of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside of Russia, but also continued to operate, but without an archive and property. On the eve of the establishment of diplomatic relations with Russia, the government of the People's Bloc decided to transfer the church property to the Russian church in the city of Sofia. In 1934, during tense negotiations on the terms of establishing diplomatic relations, it was decided to transfer the church for temporary use to the state of Bulgaria.
In 1946, after the restoration work, the church was transferred to the jurisdiction of Archbishop Seraphim. In 1952 the church received the status of a courtyard of the Moscow Patriarchate in the city of Sofia. The last renovation work was carried out here in 1994-1996.
Today the church is a pillarless quadrangle with an attached altar and side rooms. An image of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker was installed above the entrance. The mural was made under the direction of V.T. Perminov in the traditional Russian style. Church bells were received as a gift from Nicholas II. The crypt contains the relics of Archbishop Sarafim, who was buried in 1950.
We also recommend reading Hagia Sophia in Bulgaria, Sofia resort
Topic: Church of St. Nicholas (Russian Polish Church) in Bulgaria, Sofia resort.