Rating: 8,2/10 (124 votes)
This monastery began to be built by order of the wife of Philip III, Queen Margaret of Austria. Construction lasted 5 years, until 1616. The author of the project of the temple – Juan Gomez de Mora. Due to his youth, he followed the ideas of his teacher and uncle Francisco de Mora, a famous architect. The facade of the monastery is made of bricks and stone slabs. In the 18th century, the temple was badly damaged by fire, and it was ordered to restore it.
The monastery became famous thanks to the discovery of a shrine with the blood of St. Panteleimon. Every year, on July 27, the blood miraculously turns to liquid. In addition to the shrine, the museum of the temple contains many other relics, as well as a magnificent collection of sculpture, painting, holy images,
We also recommend reading Zacharias nameti (Zacharieva square) in the Czech Republic, Telc resort
Topic: Monastery of Encarnacion (Monasterio de la Encarnacion) in Spain, resort of Madrid.