Palace of Knossos in Greece, Heraklion resort (Topic)

Traval Articles » Travel » Palace of Knossos in Greece, Heraklion resort

Palace of Knossos in Greece, Heraklion resort

Rating: 8,3/10 (3590 votes)
Palace of Knossos – it is a legendary palace of the Minoan era and, perhaps, the main historical landmark of Crete.

The ruins of this palace are located 5 kilometers east of Heraklion. The palace was built in 1900 BC. After 200 years, it was destroyed by an earthquake. The rebuilt palace was even more luxurious and majestic. The palace of Knossos was finally destroyed in the 15th century BC due to another earthquake. The palace was not only the residence of the rulers of Crete, but also the administrative and religious center of the island.

The palace was discovered in 1878 by amateur archaeologist Minos Kalokerinos during the excavation of warehouses.

The Palace of Knossos is   complex of buildings. They are all grouped around a courtyard. Various levels of buildings are connected by corridors and stairs, some descend deep into the ground. Many corridors end in dead ends, staircases sometimes come across completely unexpected places, and rooms are completely chaotic.

Columns serve as supports for the floors. Historians believe that the palace lived a very hectic and varied life. This is confirmed by shards and debris that are found among the ruins of the palace. Numerous rooms and halls were used for ceremonial receptions. Some housed the royal chambers, as well as the bedrooms of slaves, servants, court ladies and dignitaries.

Also in the palace were workshops of artisans who served under the king. There was a theater for 500 people, huge pantries, special places for ritual bullfights, a well-thought-out sewage system, as well as the very first flush toilets.

The throne room of the palace is decorated with images of griffins – half-lion-half-eagle. The walls of the entire palace are decorated with frescoes depicting bulls. The same images are found on gold and stone vessels.

In myths, this palace was called a labyrinth. This word comes from the term `` labrys '' -   double ax. This image adorns the walls of the palace. According to legend, in the corridors of the palace there lived a half-bull, half-man – Minotaur. From Athens, he was annually sent to eat 7 girls and 7 youths. According to ancient Greek mythology, the Minotaur was killed by the son of King Aegeus Theseus.

We also recommend reading Flea markets in Cyprus

Topic: Palace of Knossos in Greece, Heraklion resort.Palace of Knossos in Greece, Heraklion resort

Author: Kelly Costine