Rating: 7,9/10 (767 votes)
Agenskalna baznica (Agenskalna baznica) description and photos - Latvia: Riga. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The name in English is Agenskalna baznica.
Photo and description
Agenskalns Baptist Church was built from 1913 to 1916. The project of the church was prepared by the architect A. Vanags. According to the original plan, the church was to be executed in the forms of neo-romanticism. The structure of the building was dominated by asymmetry. The facade was made in the form of an asymmetrically located 3-storey tower and a 2-storey building. The tower was crowned with a pyramidal roof, and the building had an oak pediment made in the romantic style, in the center of which was a portal.
As a result, the built temple was somewhat different from the project of A. Vanags. The church tower was only built in 1936, it was more pointed than in the project. On the ground floor there was a vestibule and 2 small corduroy halls, on the second there was a parish building. In 1933, a new organ was installed in the building.
During the Second World War and after the Agenskalns Baptist Church did not stop its work. The last divine service was held in the church in 1961, as the premises were taken away by the Soviet regime. And in the period from 1961 to 1991. the parish gathered in the church of the Riga Baptist parish of Matei. The premises of the church were converted into a television studio. The result of this restructuring was the demolished tower, a new annex located parallel to the parish premises.
Agenskalnskaya Baptist Church was the first church to be returned from the property of the Soviet government. When the church was returned to the parish, reconstruction work began according to the project of the architect L. Skuya. As a result of repair and restoration work, the parish building became even higher than it was, in addition, special lamps were installed. The place where the altar was located was decorated with a tapestry. On the second floor there was a small parish building.
The Agenskalns Baptist Parish was founded in 1879, in 1884 it was officially registered. The first church of the parish was built in 1888. Then it was located on Temple Street 2. In 1916, a Baptist church was built. And in 1939, next to the Agenskalns Baptist Church, a boarding house for the elderly was built. A. Schmeling was the architect of this project. The boarding house was called "Sunset".
The church was returned to the parish only in 1989, and a few years later the boarding house was also returned. Since 1993, the first Christian school in Riga began its work in the boarding house. Today the building houses the Bible Institute.
We also recommend reading Ancient Olympia (Arhea Olimpia) description and photos - Greece: Peloponnese
Topic: Agenskalna baptist church (Agenskalna baznica) description and photos - Latvia: Riga.