Rating: 7,2/10 (171 votes)
Castle Villach (Burg Villach) description and photos - Austria: Villach. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The title in English is Burg Villach.
Photo and description
Villach Castle was first mentioned in 1270 documents as Bamberger Castle. It was probably built in 1233 as part of the city's fortifications. The castle was located in the northeastern corner of the fortifications. Remains of ancient masonry can still be seen today.
The city of Villach was for some time part of the lands belonging to the Diocese of Bamberg. The local castle housed the manager. In addition, the castle had an armory and a dungeon. The existing building of the Renaissance castle was built in the 16th century. Over the next 17th century, the castle was rebuilt more than once. A simple three-storey building forms a courtyard with arcades. Villach Castle has now been converted into social housing. A small part of it is reserved for the Villach City Museum, where archaeological finds are exhibited.
On the south side of the castle Villach adjoins the chapel of St. Henry and St. Kunigunda, built in the XIV century. Until 1640 it belonged to the parish of Saint Martin, and then to the parish of Saint James. In 1738 the chapel was desecrated and was not used for its intended purpose for a long time. It was restored in 1980 and services began to be held here again. After the completion of the restoration, the chapel of St. Henry and St. Kunigunda was blessed by the bishop.
During the 2003 renovation, the altar was enlarged and the fresco showing the patrons of the temple was extended. The chapel is also used by the Serbian Orthodox Church. Sometimes Orthodox believers gather here for service. The castle chapel in Villach is a daughter church of the parish church of St. Mark in Klagenfurt.
Topic: Castle Villach (Burg Villach) description and photos - Austria: Villach.