Rating: 8,3/10 (6859 votes)
St. Nicholas Church (Pfarrkirche hl. Nikolaus) description and photos - Austria: Lech. Detailed information about the attraction. Description, photographs and a map showing the nearest significant objects. The name in English is Pfarrkirche hl. Nikolaus.
Photo and description
The Parish Church of St. Nicholas, which is one of the main attractions of the Lech resort, was built on a high hill above the river in 1390 on the site of an even more ancient chapel. The remains of a chapel from the beginning of the 14th century were discovered during archaeological excavations. The small chapel had a rectangular nave and a semicircular presbytery. At the same time, in 1390, the most remarkable architectural detail of this church was erected - a massive bell tower 33 meters high. It will receive its onion-shaped dome in 1694.
At the end of the 15th century, the church of St. Nicholas was rebuilt in the Gothic style. In 1603 the nave was rebuilt while the old Gothic portals remained intact. Another reconstruction of the church took place in 1791.
Since ancient times, people preferred to bury their dead near this temple, and now it is surrounded by the city cemetery. The nave of the church is decorated in a baroque style, and the choir is made in a gothic style. The south wall of the nave with a portal and a round window is decorated with several frescoes. On the left you can see the images of St. Christopher, painted by Andreas Mayer in the 17th century, and the Madonna and Child by Julius Wechinger, created in 1933. The painting on the right side of the portal dates from the same year. There, the talented artist Martin Hausle depicts the guardian angel and Tobias.
To the north of the tower is a two-story sacristy with lancet windows. In the choir on the left you can see the Gothic frescoes of 1480: "The Coronation of the Virgin" and "The Dormition of the Virgin", as well as in the lunettes there are paintings on the theme of the Nativity and Renaissance of Jesus Christ.
The high altar with four columns was made by Josef Clemens Witwer in 1791.
We also recommend reading Monkey Island (Isla de los Monos) description and photos - Peru: Iquitos
Topic: Church of St. Nicholas (Pfarrkirche hl. Nikolaus) description and photos - Austria: Lech.